Glyphs, glorious glyphs, just how do we do it?

So I’ve been deliberating as to the best way to go about this topic, and I’ve decided to settle for the following format:

  • Glyphs I use personally
  • Glyphs I could use
  • Other, usable glyphs
  • Other, non-usable glyphs (for other specs)
  • Minor glyphs

None of the glyphs listed are in any particular order, other than the aforementioned categories, though they may end up being alphabetical by accident or something.

Tally ho!

Glyphs I use

  1. Glyph of Metamorphosis – With this glyph, Metamorphosis lasts for 36s, and only has a 2.1m cooldown, assuming you have points in Nemesis, which you ought to as Demo. This gives the Meta effect an uptime of about 24%, which is pretty good considering the large dps increase the ability brings. An extra 6s certainly isn’t going to hurt you – unless you decided to spawn as an Ulduar boss today or something.
  2. Glyph of Life Tap – This is a fantastic glyph which was introduced in 3.1. Basically, by slipping a rank 1 Life Tap into my rotation every 20s, I can keep the buff up constantly with no adverse effects, granting me a constant spell power increase. Obviously the size of the increase depends on your spirit, but since I’m so cool as to have almost exactly 500 spirit, I get an increase of 100 spell power. Can’t say no to that!
  3. Glyph of Felguard – A straight-forward dps increase for the only pet a Demo Warlock should be dps’ing with. Definitely worth the slot and a glyph that should be found in any Demo ‘Lock’s glyph-space.

Glyphs I could use

  1. Glyph of Corruption – This is a dps increase, but not so great as the ones I use currently. However, if you can’t find any of the others, this is perfectly acceptable, as it should proc fairly often and does what it says on the tin – gives you an instant-cast Shadow Bolt.
  2. Glyph of Curse of Agony – A straight-up dps increase. However, you may often be using CoE over CoA, and Demo Warlocks don’t need to keep DoTs up quite as religiously as Affliction ones do, so the occasional CoA might be skipped over, which would make this glyph a little pointless. As with Glyph of Corruption, it’s a possibility, but better ones can be found.
  3. Glyph of Health Stone – If you can’t find anything better, this will help with survivability, and might be handy on a fight such as Loatheb. Honestly, though, it’s a PvP glyph and there should be better out there for raids.
  4. Glyph of Immolate – The main contender to the 3 I use, this could very easily be swapped in, especially for the Meta glyph; I’m of the understanding that this is almost equal to it in terms of dps increase, but I choose Meta instead as this one again relies on you keeping up your DoTs, which can sometimes be missed by accident. Either/or in this case.
  5. Glyph of Incinerate – Another basic increase to your dps but not as good as others. Possible for lack of anything else, or if you really like fire spells.
  6. Glyph of Shadow Bolt – This will certainly save you mana, and maybe save the healers’ mana when you have to Life Tap less, but it’s not really viable as a raiding glyph for Demonology. Better suited to shadow-specific / Destruction Warlocks.
  7. Glyph of Soulstone – I used this for a while when I didn’t have anything else, and it’s handy in 5-man heroics, etc, but in raids it’s less likely a SS will be used and more likely people will rez and run, so for the raiding Warlock it’s not that good. Might have some PvP usage though – popping back to life with full health (restored me to full anyway) could be handy.
  8. Glyph of Searing Pain – Not too sure on this one, I always advise against Searing Pain spam in raids due to the aggro issues, but it may be viable as Destro, as there are talents there to improve it anyway. Also, there would be some use in PvP, perhaps in a sniper/nuke build.

Other, usable glyphs

  1. Glyph of Death Coil – A blatant PvP glyph, and not even a very good one at that. I’d not ever take it for anything, I don’t think.
  2. Glyph of Demonic Circle – I think Blizzard were kidding about this. 4 seconds? Not worth the slot, my friends.
  3. Glyph of Fear – A good PvP glyph and one I use with my PvP off-spec. Not meant for the world of raids though (unless you really want to annoy the PuG members who have been harassing you for hours by pulling the instance down upon them).
  4. Glyph of Felhunter – I have no idea how much worth this has, and I don’t need to as Demo, because we always use our FGs.
  5. Glyph of Howl of Terror – No use in PvE unless you’re soloing and tend to pull badly. PvP-wise, it’s more useful, but not one I’d take myself.
  6. Glyph of Imp – Probably actually quite good in terms of a dps increase, except for the small drawback of us never using an Imp to dps since we have a big, bad FG.
  7. Glyph of Shadowflame – A PvP glyph designed to allow us to snare people. I don’t think it’s very popular, and I don’t use it myself. Either way, no use in PvE whatsoever.
  8. Glyph of Soul Link – Another PvP one. Unless you pull aggro badly, take tonnes of AoE damage from standing in those nasty things on the floor or enjoy tanking, this ain’t the raiding glyph for you. In PvP, it’s alright, but not hugely good.
  9. Glyph of Succubus – Need you ask? A no-go, because… We have a FG! I’m also a firm supporter of the Succubus being useless for anything except CC, so I’d not take this for PvP either, but opinions may vary.
  10. Glyph of Voidwalker – Yet again, nope.
  11. Glyph of Health Funnel – One might find this useful when soloing but I doubt it would be needed anywhere else.

Other, non-useable glyphs (for other specs)

  1. Glyph of Chaos Bolt
  2. Glyph of Conflagrate
  3. Glyph of Haunt
  4. Glyph of Shadowburn
  5. Glyph of Siphon Life
  6. Glyph of Unstable Affliction

Minor glyphs

  1. Glyph of Unending Breath – I use it, it comes in useful occasionally when swimming.
  2. Glyph of Drain Soul – Probably the most useful minor glyph we have, making it quicker to farm shards. Slightly.
  3. Glyph of Kilrogg – The third one I use, it’s not so much handy as it is fun, but hey.
  4. Glyph of Souls – Hardcore people might use this I suppose, it saves mana during raids.
  5. Glyph of Enslave Demon – Not sure anyone uses Enslave Demon except randomly for fun, these days, but if you do, here’s the glyph for you.
  6. Glyph of Curse of Exhaustion – Good for those PvP Affliction ‘Locks, I guess, bit useless for anyone without the spell though.

So, that’s that! Hopefully you can now see why I choose what I choose, and why I don’t choose what I don’t choose, and what I might choose if I couldn’t choose what I did choose but didn’t want to choose what I don’t choose. Or similar.

Until next time, when I’ll hopefully have produced something on rotations at long last,

Vel.

Leave a Reply

