My Addons (O-Z)

Continuing straight on from yesterday, let’s run through the second half of my addons. The links lead to the relevant pages on Curse.

Omen is pretty much the bee’s knees of threat meters. Required for raids and instances, it displays your relative threat level in a nice, graphical interface alongside a percentage and some numbers I never take notice of.

Omen

Omen

This handy addon is one I only discovered recently. As with a couple of the others here, I don’t actually use it on Veliaf because I’m not big into professions with him, but for my alts it hugely simplifies things. Basically, Panda allows you to choose the relevant profession from a series of tabs, and then it simply allows for one-click milling/DEing/prospecting/making and away you go. Unfortunately there’s nothing out there which will allow you to set it to auto-DE and walk away, but you can certainly make things smoother.

Panda

Panda

Pawn – love it. Similar to the gear scoring addons out there, with Pawn installed you can mouse over an item and see a number in the tooltip, which can be used to compare items. The numbers are determined according to preset stat scales, which is to say you can assign different values for each stat in a scale, and then have different scales for different specs or classes. You can also copy in scales which have been created by professional people using spreadsheets and simulators and fancy things, so you know you’ll be right. As with anything, use common sense as well as looking at the score to make sure you double check what you’re doing.

Pawn

Pawn

Mainly I use this post addon to allow me to auto-open everything in my bank alt’s mailbox, because opening hundreds of sold, cancelled or expired auctions by hand is a real pain, but I’ve adopted it across all my characters for ease of use. Certainly one I’d recommend.

Postal

Postal

Quartz is a casting bar addon which not only looks nicer than the default, but has the very useful feature of showing how much lag is affecting your spell casting – this means that you can start the next spell before the previous one has “finished”, potentially improving your dps and generally improving your life. It also shows small timers for things like drowning and fatigue, and the time remaining when making a large quantity of things, like 400 Ink of the Sea. Sometimes, I dislike Inscription…

Quartz

Quartz

Ah, QA2. I don’t think I need say much – if you need it, you’ve probably got it already. Speeding up your auction house posting and allowing you far better management of your auctions, don’t leave home without it! Unless you’re going fishing or something silly, in which case it’s probably pretty unnecessary.

Quick Auctions 2

Quick Auctions 2

Now, there are mixed reactions to Recount. Some will tell you it’s the work of the devil – people often judge the performance of others solely on their ranking on the damage or healing meters, leading to much drama and hating, whereas some will stand by it and maintain that it’s a useful tool. Myself, I find it good for measuring my own performance, but I realise it has to be taken with a pinch of salt because it won’t be a true measure of your dps unless you’re standing in front of a training dummy; there are any number of things that can throw your numbers off. I certainly don’t post it in chat after every trash mob like some folks. What I’d say is get it, use it, but keep it to yourself.

Recount

Recount

A replacement for the default combat text, SCT is more customizable and allows you to choose the font, colour, position, etc of your text, as well as make it show (or not show) a wider variety of things than the standard Blizzard UI allows for.

SCT - Configuration screen

SCT - Configuration screen

This is simply a plug-in for the SCT addon, with more configuration options and support – essentially, get this when you get SCT.

I’ve actually already mentioned TMW! Check out my Warlock addons guide here.

Titan Panel is probably my oldest and most beloved addon, bestowing upon me that sweet bar across the top of my screen which provides oh-so-much useful information. From the time and xp to my next level, to the money made this session, to the coordinates of my location, to a myriad of other things, this all-in-one yet lightweight companion is definitely one I’d recommend, simply for quality of life improvements. There are also about 40,000 plug-ins so you can customize what it shows indefinitely.

Titan Panel

Titan Panel

This nifty little addon simply allows you to sell all your grey items to the vendor at once, streamlining the waste disposal process.

VendorFood

VendorFood

And with that, I conclude this series of guides on addons!

Vel.

Leave a Reply

