My UI

Hot on the heels of my addon posts (recommended reading to understand this post, find them here and here), today I’m going to talk about my UI layout, and why things are where they are.

When I was working out where I wanted each thing to be on the screen, I had a few points in mind:

  • The major things should be obvious and easy to see
  • Little, less important things should be out of the way, but visible
  • Information which isn’t often needed, or isn’t wanted during a fight, should be hidden unless I want to see it
  • I wanted to keep the look of the default UI, because I just like the design of it
  • Lastly, I want to be able to see the whole raid’s unit frames at once

Taking those things into consideration, here’s what my UI looks like outside of combat:

UI3

And this is what it looks like in combat:

So as you can see, I’m using the standard action bars along the bottom and up the side of the screen – frankly I’ve never needed more space than what’s provided, and I always think the action bar mods look really awkward and generally unfriendly. The things I need to see are slap bang in the centre, and things I don’t need a constant eye on are off to one side. Stuff I look at constantly, like my bag space, is along the top.

Details of the numbered parts are as follows:

  1. This is Titan Panel, one of my favourite mods which I wrote about in my addons post. It displays a lot of useful, easy to see information.
  2. My Recount meter is shown here, but I usually have it hidden, especially during combat, or else it gets in the way.
  3. Some addons take up a lot of screen space, and so have minimap icons which can be clicked to show or hide them. These are found around the edge of my default minimap.
  4. For some reason, most people never expand to more than one chat box – I personally have one for trade, general, party chat, etc, and one dedicated to my guild and officer chat, because I value that the most and don’t want to miss anything. If I had a wider screen, I’d expand to three boxes so group chat channels could be separate too.
  5. It’s not shown here because I’m not in a raid, but this is where Grid lives for my raid frames. For parties, I use the default UI because there’s nothing else which needs the space.
  6. Just fading off the screen at the top there is SCT, my Scrolling Combat Text, which replaces the standard one. I still prefer it in the middle though, it’s easier to see those tasty Soul Fire crits!
  7. Here’s TellMeWhen in all its glory. Since this is probably the thing I look at most during a fight, it’s next to the cast bar, where my eyes tend to be if they’re not focused on the environment.
  8. The cast bar, as provided by Quartz. You can see the red area denoting lag.
  9. Since there’s nobody else in my group attacking my target, the little drop down doesn’t show, but this is my Omen Threat Meter for showing, well, threat. I don’t usually need to see it, but having it visible is a must.
  10. Finally, tucked away in a corner is LiveDamage, showing my current spell power. All it does is save me having to open the character screen if I want to see how much effect buffs are having, or what-not, so it’s not important and therefore should be unintrusive.

And that’s that. Coming tomorrow, we have keybindings, which I think should finish off this section of guides, unless I think of anything else. Do of course feel free to suggest or ask anything you wish!

Vel.

Leave a Reply

