The stupidity of some

One thing that really irks me is when people advertise a PuG raid but ask for you to link them your achievement before they’ll let you in. Why is this stupid?

Well for one thing, if you have the achievement for somewhere like ToC (since it requires killing the last boss), it most probably means you’ve completed it with a raiding guild. Which means you’re either still in a raiding guild, or you have been. If you have been, but you left, it’s because you don’t have time to raid any more (so you won’t be joining the PuG), or because you have all the gear you need and aren’t interested any more. Hence, you wouldn’t join a PuG because there’s no benefit – you’ve seen the content and you’ve got the gear.

If you’re still in that raiding guild, you’re probably going to be running ToC (or wherever) every other night – or at least once a week. This means that even if you’re not saved to it, you’re probably sick of it already, and you’re certainly not going to be wanting to wipe on bosses which are easy for your guild to kill.

So that leaves potential PuG members as anyone not in a guild who hasn’t already been to the raid. And therefore they won’t have the achievement, will they? It’s a wonder these PuGs ever fill up.

Just because somebody doesn’t have the achievement for ToC (for example) doesn’t mean they don’t know the fights, doesn’t mean they’re not skilled, and doesn’t mean they haven’t got the right gear. Heck, they might have killed all but the final boss!

I’ve never set foot in the place, but I know strategies for almost all of every fight in there. I know about using the orbs on the Twins with the dark and light difference, I know about standing on ice on Anub if he follows me so that the spikes won’t penetrate and I’ll be safe, I know that you have to avoid the charge on Gormok (part of Northrend beasts) and that faction champions can be very similar to a PvP fight and therefore I need potentially to be aware of things like Fear to CC. I’m also pretty good at playing my class, if I do say so myself, and can easily put out enough dps to be suited to a normal ToC run.

In a way, it’s very similar to when young people are looking for jobs. A friend of mine walked into HMV to ask about the vacancy, but she was turned away because she didn’t already have previous retail experience. Now, she’s good with people, she’s reliable, and she knows a heck of a lot about music, but it didn’t matter, because she hadn’t worked anywhere else first. But if everywhere says that, where is she supposed to go to get the experience in the first place?

PuG groups are much the same; they won’t accept you unless you’ve cleared the raid already, but none of them will let you in to clear it! It’s a strange world we live in folks…

Posted in Misc.. Tags: , , , . 3 Comments »

3 Responses to “The stupidity of some”

  1. Mirtai Says:

    I couldn’t agree more

  2. Tamarind Says:

    /agreed.

    People asking for the achi drive me nuts – after all, it’s perfectly possible to spend a raid dead on the floor and on fire and still walk out with a “I was brave in TotC-10” today badge. Gah!

  3. Poneria Says:

    This is typically only the experience I’ve had with pure pugs. Guilds tend to pull from friends first, and then friends of those friends. My “pugged” raids are either from guildies extending a LFM in guild chat (my first ToCrs) or a good 5man pug-friend who invites me to their guild run (my druid’s first Uld run). I rarely if ever use LFG/Trade to get into a pug raid.

    However, the one thing I miss about the non-cross-server LFG is I see less and less of people on my realm, so less potential contacts / friends outside my guild for raids. 😦


Leave a Reply

