DPS meme, with a “slight” Demonology theme

DPS

Many of you may have heard of the tanking and healing memes that are flying around. Many of you may not have heard that there’s also one for us dps classes, as created by the Death Goddess. Not being one to shy away from random questionnaires, here we go!

What is the name, class, and spec of your primary dps?

Veliaf, my Human Warlock who – as you should all know by now from reading my blog – is Demonology specced. Because it’s superior. In every way.

What is your primary dpsing environment? (i.e. raids, pvp, 5 mans)

Unfortunately, probably five-man heroics, because I can’t raid as much as I want to. I’ve been known to dip into the battlegrounds however, in which case I spec into Destruction. But not because it’s better! Just for a change, y’know, so that I can appreciate Demonology all the more. We can’t have the best spec all the time.

What is your favorite dps spell/ability for your class and why?

That’s a tricky one, and could be either Metamorphosis or Soul Fire. The former turns me into a hulking great Illidan-type demon with wings and fire and a 20% boost to my damage, and really represents the awesomeness that Demonology has to offer. On the other hand, my Soul Fires crit for crazy amounts (read – 17.6k, once) and the idea of throwing a whopping great ball of fire at my enemies appeals. It’s a bit mage-y though…

Demon with fire

Artist's rendition of a demon with fire and things. Products and colours may vary.

What dps spell do you use least for your class and why?

Well, out of all my potential dps spells, Searing Pain, because I rarely need to pull threat (which it does an excellent job of for its minimal damage) and hence never really use it. Out of the ones I actually use, Incinerate, because unless certain things have proc’d, Shadow Bolt does more damage and brings greater benefits to the raid or group. Fire spells aren’t very Demonological either (would you believe that’s actually a word according to my spelling and grammar filter?).

What do you feel is the biggest strength of your dps class and why?

We have the ability to kill things in many different ways. As Affliction, we can bring the pain in agonizingly small amounts over a long period of time, or as Destruction we can go the complete opposite and make steak of a Tauren within the space of about three GCDs. Then there’s also Demonology, where, if our opponent hasn’t already keeled over from the majesty of our talent spec, we can summon a demon with a freakin’ great axe to come and lop their head off while we cackle manically. The new end-of-tree Demonology talent in Cataclysm is actually Demonic Cackle: “You cackle, and your evil cavorting summons the darkness incarnate to surround the target of your laughter, causing them to go blind and deaf while bending them to your will as your second minion. Lasts until cancelled, or you get bored of mocking them in their anguish.”

What do you feel is the biggest weakness of your dps class and why?

Trash. Our DoTs need time to build up to their full potential, and even our direct damage spells take a bit of time to charge up and let go, which doesn’t help for things which die quickly. So that only really leaves us with some meagre AoE… Unless you’re Demonology of course.

In a 25 man raiding environment, what do you feel, in general, is the best dps assignment for you?

Point me to the boss and let me kill it. Don’t ask me to kite, because I’m squishy and cloth-wearing and likely to die. Don’t ask me to handle the adds, because I’m rubbish at killing trashy things. Just let me stand and bring pain.

What dps class do you enjoy dpsing with most and why?

Well I’m biased in that I only have two dps classes at 80, but my favourite is still the Warlock. On occasion, I have been known to enjoy pewpewing with my Arcane specced Mage however.

What dps class do you enjoy dpsing with least and why?

Again, I’m limited in my knowledge of playing other classes at 80, but I hate playing Warriors with all my heart, so I guess they’ll do.

What is your worst habit as a dps?

Cleaning out gunk from my Demon Form wings when I should be killing things I’ll admit, sometimes I do put up DoTs on everything in the pack of things we’re attacking to boost my dps a bit, and it can does aggro more than I’d like.

What is your biggest pet peeve in a group environment while dpsing?

People posting Recount meters, and, more specifically, people posting Recount meters either for trash pulls or for ‘Overall damage’, which unfortunately is the default setting, because that includes trash. DPS ON TRASH IS NOT IMPORTANT.

Recount cartoon

Vaguely related pun on the word Recount, showing underperforming dps QQing.

Do you feel that your class/spec is well balanced with other dps?

Yeah, I think so. Sometimes I’m top on meters, and sometimes I’m not, but the classes surrounding me always vary. My only complaint is Arcane Mages, because since they got buffed their dps has soared to ridiculous levels, and they love it, damn them.

What tools do you use to evaluate your own performance as a dps’er?

I do use Recount and WWS parses, but I don’t post them in chat. Generally, though, I know how well I’ve done just from the feel of how it went. If I haven’t really tried, I can tell, and likewise if I’m doing the most I can and holding up the whole group, I know it and am proud.

What do you think is the biggest misconception people have about your class?

That we have a shred of goodness in our hearts? Oh, no, that we enjoy giving out healthstones. Or that we have an endless supply of soul shards? No, actually, that we enjoy being whispered from across the world by someone wanting to be summoned, who also assumes we can do that by ourselves.

What do you feel is the most difficult thing for new dpsers of your class to learn?

Learning to time your DoTs, especially if you play Afflictions (fools! Spec Demonology!) is one of the hardest things to learn, but it’s also one of the most important. You don’t want to cast them so that they only run for half of their duration, but at the same time you don’t want to clip them or let them fall off the opponent without refreshing them. You also need to be aware of how casting the DoTs fits into a rotation.

What dps class do you feel you understand least?

The answer here depends on how you ask the question. I mean, I’ve never understood Paladins – why would anyone want to dress up in gear like that? But no, seriously – if you mean which class do I know least about, I’d have to say Warriors or Priests, and if you mean which class do I play but not quite ‘get’, I’d say the Druid.

What add-ons or macros do you use, if any, to aid you in dps?

Omen Threat Meter is a necessity, as is DBM. Specifically for dps though? TellMeWhen is my number one. I did write a post or three about my addons and things recently – see here and here.

What stat to stack, and why?

Personally, I aim to stack 1337ness. Since that’s limited to Demonology Warlocks however, the generic “hit until capped and then Spellpower with some Intellect and a little Stamina mixed in” is advisable. The reason being, you can have as much killing power as you like, but it’s all useless if you miss! Once you’re certain you’ll hit them, Spellpower gives you the best damage / unit of stat, but you do need Intellect for increased mana, and a little Stamina (not too much) to allow you to Life Tap. Spirit doesn’t hurt, giving us more mana / health when we do Tap, but please don’t stack it specifically.

Well, if you’re still reading, congratulations, because I’d probably have given up when I started talking about wing-gunk. Remember, you too can join the conga meme chain and participate – make sure to shoot a link to the Goddess so you can be added to the list!

Vel.

One Response to “DPS meme, with a “slight” Demonology theme”

  1. hasteur Says:

    Interesting. Our pocket Demo-Lock puts up some pretty decent numbers too. Will have to re-work the numbers when I can to see how it looks


Leave a comment