Affliction in Patch 3.3 – Useful links

While I’ve covered all the Warlock changes from the latest patch (here and here), it’s no secret that my speciality spec, as well as my favourite, is Demonology, and as such I’ve gone into more detail about those changes than the others (here). My in-game offspec, Destruction, didn’t really have a great deal of changes to talk about, so I reckon I can get away with not discussing that much. But one area I do fall down on is talking about Affliction at end game, because I really know very little and I also don’t play it (yet). I plan to rectify that in the future, but until that time, I’m happy to send all you Affliction Warlocks off to some other blogs who are a little more knowledgeable.

Before we start, thanks be to Syrana for pointing out these blogs and posts during her last TLC Thursday post.

Mystic Chicanery

This is Nibuca’s personal blog (hear her on the Twisting Nether podcast too) and in this post she discusses the new Glyph of Quick Decay, which decreases the time between ticks of your Corruption spell. This leads to a handy guide to Affliction spell priorities – definitely worth a look.

Killing ‘Em Slowly

This blog by Fulguralis is actually one I hadn’t seen until just recently (shock horror!) but one that I will certainly be reading from now on. There are three good posts here I want to identify:

  1. Affliction raiding spec – a detailed guide to where to put your talent points.
  2. Affliction glyphs and rotation – you’ve got the spec, now you need the correct glyphs and a swish rotation to match. I enjoyed the level of detail that the rotation section went into, as it covers pre- and post-25% health, and also includes a large section on multiple targets, something a lot of people (including myself, probably) skip over.
  3. Affliction stat choices and pets – choosing the correct pet is obviously a decision which can affect your gameplay (and more importantly, dps) a great deal, and then when loot starts dropping, you need to be sure what stats are best for you. As with the previous guides on this website, the length, detail and amount of effort put in were very impressive.

Hopefully these links will be of use! Do you know of any other good Affliction guides, blogs or articles? Leave a link in the comments below.

Vel.

3 Responses to “Affliction in Patch 3.3 – Useful links”

  1. Syrana Says:

    You are welcome! 🙂 Although I’m an affliction lock myself, I don’t do much raiding and feel I’m not one to give advice for that (even if I know the info… just.. y’know) so I try to share the info from much more knowledgeable peeps. 😀

  2. Fulguralis Says:

    TY for the link love :-).


Leave a comment